The Turning of the Tide

2 08 2011

Water Surge by Michael Drummond/Public Domain Pictures.net

It is indeed that, as I turn 45 today. I’m still trying to wrap my head around how I went from a teenager who didn’t think she’d live past high school, to middle life. I have never needed drugs to go on mental trips–they simply come to me from everyday life.

My sea-change of life somewhat parallels the sea-change in the Christian world, and I’ve written about it on my Examiner.com page. Give it a read! It’s my birthday, after all.

And it looks like Congress, the Senate and the White House decided to give me a birthday present of “resolving”? the debt-ceiling debacle before the deadline, ensuring the United States does not go into default. Yeah… Uh Huh.

My favorite quote of the post-mortem on this deal comes from Jim Geraghty on the Hugh Hewitt Show yesterday. Jim expressed his own lukewarm feelings on the resolution, and said something to the effect that every time it looks as though we have government spending locked up and under control, they pull a Harry Houdini on us. Well said.

I have the feeling that this so-called Super Committee will have as much affect as the Debt Commission. Lots of time and money spent on coming to conclusions and solutions, which ultimately end up in the political round file.

But for now, neither side is giving high-fives or breaking out the champagne. Quin Hilyer’s piece in The American Spectator pretty much sums it up: “The Deal Sort of Stinks… But Only ‘Sort of’“. Erick Ericson, never a glass-half-full fellow to begin with, headlined his RedState Morning Briefing with “We All Lose.” Tell us how you really feel, Erick.

The far Left is particularly in a tizzy.  The favorite quote on their side comes from Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, who called the deal, “A sugar-coated Satan sandwich.” Cleaver’s a poet, and he didn’t even know it!

Kevin Drum of Mother Jones trips over a familiar leftist canard: People are too stupid to realize just how important government is in their lives, and we just have to be more persuasive, dammit! It’s Public Opinion, Stupid. He blames the progressives for not turning the tide of public opinion to support liberal agendas:

“We just haven’t persuaded the public to support our vision of government. Until we do, the tea party tendency will always be more powerful than we are.”

Oh, please. We have seen your vision of government and we don’t want it. And every attempt to ram it down our throats simply causes us to stiffen our backs even more. This is why the pendulum is swinging in the Tea Party direction. Get over yourself, Kevin.

But ultimately, it’s Nick Gillespie, Reason Magazine blogger, who hits it out the park: “The Debt-Ceiling Debate is Dead! Long Live the Debt! Or, Will ObamaCare Cover What Krugman’s Smoking?”

Spectacular headline aside, he pretty much echoes my feelings on this entire debacle:

“In fact, the real reason to be bothered by the whimper with which the debt-ceiling squabble seems to be ending is this: It doesn’t address the real issue, which is the debt load of the country.”

Or as I would say it, kicking the can to the next generation. I have no children of my own, but I feel sorry for my nephews and nieces; they will ultimately pay for all this malfeasance.

Happy Birthday, to me!

Actions

Information




