Election 2012 Post-mortem: Still looking for the Silver Linings

7 11 2012

This is the last post I expected to write on November 7, 2012. But life, often gives unexpected results.

As opposed to 2008, when I went to bed early already knowing the outcome of that election (and wrote about those “silver linings” the next day), this time around, I was much more optimistic that Americans wanted to oust this fraudulent leader. A friend even invited me to an election night party with other like-minded Conservatives, and I was excited to go and have a room full of people to potentially share in victory. So I prepared to stay up late, but be happy in doing so.

The stay up late part came to pass, the happiness and victory, not so much. President Obama was re-elected for a second term, and this grieves me beyond measure. After watching the demise of the America I thought I knew last night, I did what I do in good times and bad: look for God’s perspective on this. For my life, this is best found in God’s word.

So my comments will be interspersed with scriptures that come to mind or that fit the focus of my thoughts. Take it for what it’s worth. I will start off my rant with railing at the storm clouds first, because that’s always the first thing you. But take heart, after gazing at the dark clouds, if you look deeply enough, you can still find silver linings.

In honor of PBS funding and Big Bird being saved by an Obama re-election, this rant is brought to you by the Letter “D”.

It is Disastrous and Disgraceful that a Leftist media protected and propped up this President in order to ensure he be re-elected. Former-Hurricane-now-reduced-to-SuperStorm-Sandy is the most recent example, but they are legion. The most egregious is Benghazi, which I have written about, and will continue to write about until justice is done for Ambassador Stevens and the other Americans who lost their lives because of the incompetence of this President.

Concerning this corrupt and gangrenous entity called the mainstream media, Isaiah 5:20-21 came to mind, “Woe to those who call evil good and good evil, who put darkness for light and light for darkness, who put bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter. Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes and clever in their own sight.”

Describes the MSM to a “T”. But what they do not know is that any shred of credibility they may have had left is now completely gone. I portend that their Demise will continue to be swift and Decisive–more than we know. I plan to dance on the graves when this happens. The collective lot of them are a Disgrace to Democracy.

It is Disheartening that American people refused to watch both the Republican and Democrat conventions, the debates, or read anything the candidates were saying and critically compare their messages. More important, the refusal to look at the false and inaccurate claims on both sides and weigh the information accordingly. Some of these people are culled from my Facebook and Twitter interactions, but if this is even a microcosmic representation of a cross-section of our population, then we are in a world of hurt as a country. Laziness and Ignorance really do great harm.

It is Disturbing that a sector of Blacks are perfectly fine with having a Black President for the sake of having a Black President. No care about his lack of character, his ability to lie, blame, and obfuscate, along with his inability to keep his promises. Again I go back to the aftermath of Former-Hurricane-now-reduced-to-SuperStorm-Sandy as a shining example of who this President is and how he operates. President Obama showed up, made promises, took lots of photos, pretended to “feel their pain” , and then left to continue campaigning. Yet the people of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut continue to hurt, continue to be without food and power, and most frightening, as the weather turns colder, remain homeless. FEMA is failing in its execution of emergency aid to a degree that exceeds Katrina. But this crop of voters is still blaming Bush for the bad economy? Well, you can’t blame Bush for Sandy, or for the next four years. It’s all on our “first Black President” Obama.

Even with all this evidence, some Blacks still laud Obama as a hero and hold him up as a shining example for the Black race. How Delusional is that?

It is beyond me that some Blacks are content with 14.3% black unemployment, preferences of another race group’s voting power over their increasingly dwindling one, and black genocide in the form of highly-funded and unfettered abortions among minorities. I doubt that I will feel any sympathy toward them when they come to see that they have been bamboozled. What I do have is Hosea 8:7: “They sow the wind and reap the whirlwind. The stalk has no head; it will produce no flour. Were it to yield grain, foreigners would swallow it up.” Matter of fact, they should read the whole chapter, as it is a frightening reality on what America has become and what may be in store.

So glad I got that off my chest. Now on to that flash of light in the darkness.

God is in Control. Daniel 2:21 “He changes times and seasons; he sets up kings and deposes them. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the discerning.” I navigate in lots of worlds, and in my Christian world, lots of people were fasting and praying for the outcome of this election; I believe God’s will was done. What that means for me as a Christian is that I continue to pray for President Obama and our nation, according to 1 Timothy 2:1-2 “I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people—for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.”

What it also means is that I do what I can to fight and stand for what is right. And much about this administration is not right. I am also praying Luke 8:17: “For there is nothing hidden that will not be disclosed, and nothing concealed that will not be known or brought out into the open.” I will work for this revealing to unfold, and for believers to know their role and place when it does happen.

I gave 2 Corinithians 4:8 to another Christian Conservative who was very disheartened at last night’s results: “We are hard pressed on every side, but not defeated, crushed, but not in despair.” For those who believe like me, if we pray and we seek, we are going to see God’s intended plan for this time, and hopefully make a difference for righteousness–no matter what the circumstances.

Black Conservatives have become more visible and vocal. I’m not just talking about Herman Cain, Congressman Allen West (who continues to fight for his seat), and the “acceptable” ones they trot out on Fox and CNN. I’m talking about all the grassroots brothers and sisters I have found (and who have found me) on Twitter, Facebook, and some organizations of which I have recently become a part. These fired up folks represent and fight with reasoned thought, penetrating words, facts, and their presence. We will no longer be ignored.

I know I have increased in my conservative thought and activism over the years. It started in 2000, crystallized in 2004, and became more strong in 2008. Now on the other side of 2012, I am no less fired up, and no less motivated to see Leftist memes about Black monolithic thinking destroyed. Not every Black supports everything this President does just because he is Black. His policies and practices are the problem, not his race. I and other Black Conservatives will continue to trumpet this, and hopefully join together to make our stance known. A fellow Black Conservative, Demetrius Minor said it best on Twitter: “The racial division will only continue to widen under Obama. Conservatives: We need one another. Let’s unify.” Amen to that. Let’s demonstrate Ecclesiastes 4:12, “Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”

Finally, Grassroots activism is still alive and well. Now that this national election is over, I can turn my attention to local affairs of city and state, which is where leaders are built and real change can occur that affects the national level. While I still plan to point out the falsehood and hypocrisies of this Obama administration, I’m shifting some of my to focus the Los Angeles mayor’s race. Antonio Villaraigosa has overseen the decline of Los Angeles business and it’s economy, while feathering his nest for whatever place he will be rewarded with in the Obama administration. Many of the candidates running to replace him willingly aided and abetted Mayor Eleven Percent, and I plan to point this out, while promoting candidates who truly want to reverse the damage Villaraigosa has incurred on this city through his negligence, neglect, and power mongering. Proverbs 29:2: “When the righteous thrive, the people rejoice; but when the wicked rule, the people groan.”

Please don’t misunderstand me that I want a theocracy or only “religious” people in elected office. I take the textbook definition of “righteous” which says, “morally upright people.” I know moral atheists and immoral believers, and I’ll take the moral atheist any time. If you hold to a worldview that embraces, uplifts and seeks to further the good of a people and a community, then you are righteous in my book. On the converse, are leaders like Obama and Villaraigosa who use people and communities as a tool for the furtherance of their own agenda–and damn the consequences.

We need “righteous” leaders locally and regionally, so we can have better choices nationally.

I’ve said my peace.


Actions

Information